Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

News Detail

Meet the new officers and members of AACCI

Posted Mar. 27, 2012

Meet the 2012 College Committee

The Ashtabula Area College Committee welcomed five new members and elected new officers at its most recent meeting.

The committee added LaVette Hennigan, Patty Hoyson, Laura Jones, Phil Pawlowski and John Rubesich to its membership. These members will serve a renewable three-year term.

The new officers are: Patricia Seymour, president; Stephen Varckette, vice-president; Paul Fuller and Pawlowski, co-treasurers; and Lori McLaughlin, secretary. Other members of AACCI include: Donald Chaplin, Patricia Inman, Chuck Lafferty, Fred Leitert and Glen Warner.

The mission of the College Committee is to promote and support higher education opportunities for the community. Members serve in an advisory capacity to the dean of Kent State University at Ashtabula.

Seymour said this will be a year of growth for the committee. "We have an excellent group of community representatives who will serve our College Committee, Kent State Ashtabula and the greater community very well," Seymour said.

Campus Dean and Chief Administrative Officer Dr. Susan Stocker said the College Committee fills a critical role on the campus. "The money they provide for scholarships allows individuals to attend college who otherwise wouldn’t have had the opportunity," Stocker said. "In addition to financial support, their role as ambassadors and advisors is key to our continued growth," she said.

Since 1957, AACCI has supported campus projects and funded scholarships for students attending Kent State Ashtabula. The College Committee has distributed hundreds of thousands of dollars in scholarships over its history and given additional financial support for capital improvements and special projects on the Ashtabula Campus. Most recently AACCI provided leadership and financial support during the campaign to raise funds for the Robert S. Morrison Health and Science Building.

The Ashtabula Area College Committee is a 501(c) 3 nonprofit organization and tax-exempt donations will support current and future efforts to support higher education in our community.

Caption for photo: Front row (left to right) Paul Fuller, Donald Chaplin, Phil Pawlowski, Chuck Lafferty, John Rubesich. Back row: (l-r) Glen Warner, Patricia Inman, Lori McLaughlin, LaVette Hennigan, Patricia Seymour, Patty Hoyson, Laura Jones. Not pictured: Fred Leitert and Stephen Varckette.