Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

News Detail

Brodie to Host American Library Association Youth Media Awards Jan. 28

Posted Jan. 23, 2013
Do you have a favorite? Newbery? Caldecott? The days are counting down!

On Monday, Jan. 28, at 8 a.m. Pacific Time (11 a.m. Eastern time) in the Washington State Convention Center, the 2013 American Library Association Youth Media Awards will be announced. More than 1,300 onsite audience members and an unlimited number of virtual participants will join a webcast to hear the news first hand of who will win top honors among children’s and young adult authors and illustrators, as well as producers of children’s audio and video materials. Or you can follow along in real-time by logging on to the ALA Youth Media Awards Facebook page, or via Twitter by following hashtag #ALAyma. 

For more information visit the ALA Youth Media Awards page at The site includes 12 video presentations titled ALA Youth Media Awards in Motion which are clips from past award announcements and events.

Among the 19 awards presented at Youth Media Awards program are the prestigious Caldecott Medal (75th anniversary), which honors the illustrator of the year's most distinguished American picture book for children; Coretta Scott King Book Award for African American authors and illustrators of outstanding books for children and young adults that communicate the African American experience; John Newbery Medal, honoring the author of the year's most outstanding contribution to children's literature; Michael L. Printz Award for the best book written for young adults; Pura Belpré Award, honoring Latino writers and illustrators whose work best portrays, affirms and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in a work of literature for youth; and Theodor Seuss Geisel Award, for both the author(s) and illustrator(s) of an outstanding book for beginning readers.

SLIS Professor Carolyn S. Brodie, Ph.D., will serve as emcee for the Youth Media Awards event in her role as president of the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA).  ALSC is the world’s largest organization dedicated to the support and enhancement of library service to children. ALSC’s network includes more than 4,200 children’s and youth librarians, children’s literature experts, publishers, education and library school faculty members and other adults dedicated to creating a better future for children through libraries.